Made By Humans RFC

I had a think this morning about what, outside of the reading group, we could undertake which would be useful given this wave of new knowledge/ways of looking at things we’re getting from McQuillan. I reckon we’ll probably get a good amount of suggestions from him around organising etc. but I have a concept that possibly could be useful for pulling more people into this place and locus as a collective, and put some effort towards something useful for people.

As I’m a marketing professional (for my sins) I thought it might be best to write this a bit like a campaign proposal. There will be many gaps, it’s not a whole thought, and I don’t expect an imminent response, but if you’re interested in action on top of this theory, it might be an interesting one.

Ahead of that, I see there being a couple of issues with bringing more people into things:

• a reading group is not for everyone, people come in different shapes, some want to read theory, some want to undertake action
  • the area that we focus on is predominantly going to attract people who work in tech who are in my experience time poor (who isn’t)
  • like point 1, not everyone wants to join and engage in chat on a forum, we already have signals everywhere, why more?

Anyways…

Made By Humans

The Problem

We are careering quite fast into a situation where a lot of content (I hate this word to) online is going to be produced either by or with the aid of AI. There are artists, creators etc. who don’t like this as it either cheapens or is falsely labelled as the process of creation;

What I’m getting at is that theory of creativity tends to be connected to theory of mind and theory of consciousness. I propose that creativity has a direct causal relationship with consciousness. It is my personal belief that to be able to create in the way we understand true creation, one has to have a conscious mind.