Forum Introductions

Please feel free to introduce yourself here (should you wish)!

Hi! I work for an enterprise software company. I think technology recasts power in new ways. I am concerned about the concentration of power over technology, held in the hands of a few.

One of my favorite animals is a duck.

3 Likes

Hello, Iā€™m a coder for a multimedia agency, working across web and ā€˜experientialā€™ projects. I believe the corporatocracy of the internet is creating an intentional knowledge gap and am interested in re-introcucing people to the independent and open concepts of its earlier years.

I think my favourite animal is an otter.

2 Likes

Howdy, I work for a web search engine, formerly (for my sins) one of them blockchain companies (a foundation actually). I studied Economics at university and also have a deep interest in power, technology, and the way these two interrelate.

My favourite animal is probably my neighbour, Willow.

2 Likes

Hi, Iā€™m a whistleblowing in tech researcher (currently writing up PhD thesis). Iā€™m a business analyst and was previously a software engineer tooā€¦
This is my favourite animalā€¦sheā€™s a grumpy old girl, with a few medical issues. But sheā€™s fighting on for nowšŸ¾

4 Likes

Hello chums, Iā€™m a data visualisation developer, recently started at a co-operative, and do some work in the disability activism space. You might know me from UTAW.

My favourite animals tend to have six or more legs :bug::honeybee::spider:, although I am partial to a wombat.

3 Likes

So many cool people! Yikes! Hi!

Iā€™m a longtime anti-capitalist DIY media activist and freelancer and one of my main sources of survival is facilitating learning programmes for a small non-profit, the FreeTech Project, which I founded way back in 2010.

Iā€™m in Sheffield, England, and am passionate about technology and its potential for social good, and Iā€™m currently using eOS on mobile and Manjaro on desktop.